I just finished dinner, my usual white rice, a flare of coconut rice and a piece of chicken soaked in the ever prominent Nigerian stew. Followed by my new 2 day old ritual of scoring a meat pie from the bar for 300 naira my belly is finally full. Tomorrow is the big day, the door that opens my to my dream, the goal, the pursuit. Tomorrow is the finals of the Women’s 400m

Yesterday I ran in the preliminary rounds, was a “photo finish” 3rd place ;). In the same time as last week; 52.68. I wasn’t pleased with the time, as my body was recovering from a short sickness but I made it to the finals so God again has proven to be faithful and I can live to fight another day.

With a day of rest in between I have had plenty of time to think, focus, relax and be ready. With another day under my belt I can regain the strength I felt was missing yesterday and punch my ticket to London. My goal today was to keep the nerves at bay, do my normal routine per race work and most importantly not to nap during the day!

My family and close friends can tell you that sleep has often been my past time of choice and without the demand of going to work, emails to read, errands to run, etc. sleep is often first on the to-do list. I needed to make sure my central nervous system is ready to be alert and react tomorrow and I have succeeded! Got my pre-race shake out in, took a walk to the water park on the resort grounds and read for the rest of the day.

I just finished Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick. Awesome book that challenges the way we think about faith and learning to believe in God for the impossible. Thought I still haven’t shared my full story yet (time hasn’t been right yet) many would think even being here was impossible. But there is so much more to come, so join in my Sun Stand Still Prayer that this isn’t the peak of the mountain for me but an early summit on the way to the top.

As I await the creation of the ice baths I want to thank you all for your continued support, prayers and well wishes. They mean a whole lot and helps me to stay positive. Keep praying and Lord willingly I will have some good news to share tomorrow!

– TeamO2

Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him, and he shall bring it to pass (Psalm 37:5)

